Gaudiot Voted 2016 Computer Society President-Elect

Members also elected new vice presidents and Board of Governors members.

EEE Computer Society members recently selected Jean-Luc Gaudiot to be the CS's 2016 president-elect. Gaudiot garnered 3,450 votes and will serve as 2017 president. He is currently serving his second term as vice president for the CS's Publications Board.

Gaudiot is an IEEE Fellow and a professor of electrical engineering and computer science at the University of California, Irvine, where he also served as department chair for six years. He has a PhD in computer science from the University of California, Los Angeles. His research interests include programmability and design of multiprocessors, and his research has been funded by the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, and DARPA. He has published more than 250 peer-reviewed papers.

He has been an active member of the CS since joining as a student member in 1973. Gaudiot's leadership roles at the CS also include the areas of conferences, publications, and educational activities. He has held the positions of program committee chair or (co-) general chair of CS-sponsored conferences, including ISCA, HPCA, and PACT; editor in chief of IEEE Transactions on Computers; founding editor of IEEE Computer Architecture Letters; and vice president of Educational Activities (2013) and Publications (2014–2015).

Candidates elected to the CS presidency serve in leadership roles over a three-year term. After serving a year as president-elect under 2016 president Roger Fujii, Gaudiot will become the Society president in 2017 and continue to serve in 2018 as the past president.

CS ELECTED LEADERSHIP

Each year, CS members vote for president-elect, first and second vice presidents, and seven members of the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors. The Society president and vice presidents each serve a one-year active term, while the 21 Board of Governors members serve three-year terms, rotating in three groups of seven.

The president-elect, current president, and past president work together in leading the CS, making operational decisions, and determining policy changes. The current president presides over the three annual Board of Governors meetings and addresses major issues that affect the CS during the year.

The election closed 5 October with a turnout of 12.68 percent—6,239 ballots were cast, with 6,126 submitted online and 113 by mail.

New vice presidents elected

For first vice president, members elected David S. Ebert, CS's current



2016 Computer Society president-elect Jean-Luc Gaudiot will work to best serve the membership by providing strong leadership to sustain current CS activities and inspiring innovation by moving toward new models for publications, conferences, and educational activities.



2016 IEEE Computer Society president Roger Fujii will focus on creating a sustainable future to ensure that the Society can best support its members.

2015 IEEE ANNUAL ELECTION RESULTS



IEEE Members Selected Karen Bartleson as 2016 IEEE President-Elect

aren Bartleson, senior director of corporate programs and initiatives at Synopsys in Mountain View has been selected as the 2016 IEEE president-elect. Pending acceptance of the IEEE Teller's Committee report by the IEEE Board of Directors on 22–23 November, Bartleson will begin serving as IEEE President on 1 January 2017. She will succeed 2016 IEEE President Barry L. Shoop. The other candidate for 2016 IEEE president was Frederick "Fred" C. Mintzer, IBM (retired), Yorktown Heights, New York, USA (nominated by IEEE Board of Directors).

Of the members who voted, 22,367 selected Karen Bartleson, 17,887 selected Frederick "Fred" C. Mintzer,.

Review the complete 2015 IEEE Annual Election results at www.ieee.org/about/corporate /election/election results.html.

TABLE 1. Candidates from the full ballot for the 2016 Computer Society election.	
2016 President-Elect (1 Jan. 2017 through 31 Dec. 2017)	
Candidates	Votes
Jean-Luc Gaudiot	3,450
Hironori Kasahara	2,570
2016 First Vice President (1 Jan. 2016 through 31 Dec. 2016)	
Candidates	Votes
David S. Ebert	3,228
Hausi A. Miller	2,676
2016 Second Vice President (1 Jan. 2016 through 31 Dec. 2016)	
Candidates	Votes
Nita Patel	3,362
Gregory Byrd	2,549
Board of Governors (1 Jan. 2016 through 31 Dec. 2018) (the top seven candidates serve on the Board)	
Candidates	Votes
Cecilia Metra	4,249
Ann DeMarle	4,154
Stefano Zanero	3,011
Kunio Uchiyama	2,984
Fred Douglis	2,908
Bruce McMillin	2,556
Vladimir Getov	2,402
Andrew Wolfe	2,307
Hal Berghel	2,260
Sven Dietrich	2,154
Shmuel Shottan	2,079
Paul Nikolich	2,041

REPORT TO MEMBERS

second vice president and a professor of electrical and computer engineering at Purdue University. For second vice president, members elected Nita Patel, a systems and software engineering director at L-3 Warrior Systems and a member of the CS Board of Governors.

These two vice presidents will each head up one of the Society's boards, which include Publications, Professional and Educational Activities, Member and Geographic Activities, Technical and Conference Activities, and Standards Activities. Vice presidents for the remaining boards are appointed by the president and serve as nonvoting members of the CS Board

of Governors. Voting members of the Board are the president-elect, president, past president, and the first and second vice presidents, and the 21 Board members. Additional nonvoting members include the Society's staff executive director and the IEEE directors for Divisions V and VIII—the CS's elected representatives to the IEEE Board of Directors.

The seven elected members of the Board of Governors for the term beginning 1 January 2016 are

- Cecilia Metra, University of Bologna, Italy (4,249 votes);
- Ann DeMarle, Champlain College (4,154 votes);

- Stefano Zanero, Politecnico di Milano University (3,011 votes);
- Kunio Uchiyama, Hitachi, Ltd. (2,984 votes);
- Fred Douglis, EMC Core Technologies Division (2,908 votes);
- Bruce McMillin, Missouri University of Science and Technology (2,556 votes); and
- Vladimir Getov, University of Westminster, London (2,402 votes).

NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES

Candidates on the ballot are selected by the IEEE CS Nominations Committee or by petition. The Nominations Committee accepts nominations from members until April of the current year and presents their nominations to the Board of Governors for final approval.

Volunteering their time, energy, and expertise, elected officers help the Society to achieve its goals in terms of products and services for members, as well as to elevate the profile of the computing profession in general.

Table 1 shows the breakdown of votes cast for each office.

HOW TO NOMINATE

Any member can nominate candidates for Society offices. Most members are also eligible to run for a seat on the Board of Governors. Candidates for other offices must be full members of IEEE and must have been Society members for at least the preceding three years.

Visit www.computer.org/portal/web /election/results for more details on the 2015 IEEE Computer Society election.





Selected CS articles and columns are also available for free at http://ComputingNow.computer.org.